Cambridge Technical Diploma in IT

Qualification: BTEC and other level 3 Courses

Awarding Body:
Length of Course:
2 Years
Cambridge Technical Introductory Diploma in IT Level  3

This qualification will benefit students who want to continue their education through applied learning; by developing their knowledge and understanding of the principles of IT and global information systems.

Learners must achieve a total of five units consisting of three mandatory units and two optional units. Units 1, 2 and 3 are assessed by exam and marked externally. All the other units are internally assessed with external moderation. The units are graded Pass, Merit, Distinction and Distinction*

UCAS points are equivalent to an A’ level. New UCAS points system up to 56 UCAS Tariff points available.


Unit 1 (Exam)

Fundamentals of IT

Unit 2 (Exam)

Global Information

  • Understand computer hardware
  • Understand computer software
  • Understand business IT systems
  • Understand employability and communication skills used in an IT environment
  • Understand ethical and operational issues and threats to computer systems
  • Understand where information is held globally and how it is transmitted
  • Understand the styles, classification and the management of global information
  • Understand the use of global information and the benefits to individuals and organisations
  • Understand the legal and regulatory framework governing the storage and use of global information
  • Understand the process flow of information
  • Understand the principles of information security

Unit 6 (Coursework)

Application Design (Optional)Design an App prototype

Unit 3

Cyber Security(Optional)

  • Understand how applications are designed
  • Be able to investigate potential solutions for application developments
  • Be able to generate designs for application solutions.  Create an APP prototype
  • Be able to present application solutions to meet client and user requirements

  • Understand what is meant by cyber security
  • Gain knowledge on a range of threats, vulnerabilities and risks that impact on organisations and individuals
  • Learn a range of solutions to prevent or deal with cyber security
  • Review and make recommendations for ways to best protect digital systems and information.



Unit 21 (Coursework)

Web Design and Prototyping (Optional)

Understand the fundamentals of web design

Research, design and produce and interactive responsive web site.

Be able to present the interactive website to an identified client.

There is wide variety of units to choose from.  These are optional units and could change to include: Game design and prototyping, mobile technology, cyber security or Internet of everything.


Relevance to Further Studies and Careers

The OCR Level 3 Cambridge Technical Extended Certificate in IT is designed for learners 16 years old or over who want to continue their education through applied learning by developing their knowledge and understanding of the principles of IT and global information systems. Achievement of this qualification can support progression to go on and study relevant IT degrees in a Higher Education institution such as, Computing and IT, Computing Science, Software Developments, Software Engineering, ICT and Computer Networks or Business Information Systems. Additionally it will benefit those who want to progress into IT-related apprenticeships.






Entry Requirements

Minimum of 5 GCSEs at Grade 4 or above. A qualification in IT would be advantageous. A good level of literacy and numeracy skills is expected.

Further Information

Cambridge Technical Introductory Diploma in IT Level 3