The Lord Glenamara Memorial Prize


Sixth Formers Devika Jayan and Sarah Knight have been announced as Runner’s Up for the The Lord Glenamara Memorial Prize 2018.

The Lord Glenamara Memorial Prize was established in 2013 and it is awarded annually.

The ceremony is held in London and the awards are presented by the serving Secretary of State for Education. There is one winner and 9 runners up.

The Award is open to all schools and colleges across the North East. The award was established to commemorate the work of former education secretary Lord Glenamara (Ted Short) with the aim of recognising and celebrating the achievements of young people who have not only  performed well academically but who also have an active interest in public service in their local community.

St. Anthony’s has an excellent record in this Prize.


2015 Runner up Claudia Spoor

2017 Runner up Grace Copeland


This year we have two recipients of this highly prestigious award. Which is a tangible recognition of not only our student’s hard work, but also the long hours and commitment of so many staff.

Well done everyone!


2018 Runner’s up Devika Jayan and Sarah Knight.